COUNCIL

ANNUAL MEETING HELD AT THE TOWN HALL, BOOTLE ON THURSDAY 29TH MAY, 2014

PRESENT: The Mayor (Councillor K. Cluskey) (in the Chair)

The Deputy Chair (Councillor M. Fearn) (Vice Chair)

Councillors Ashton, Atkinson, Ball, David Barton, Jo Barton, Maria Bennett, Veronica Bennett, Booth, Bradshaw, Brennan, Brodie - Browne, Burns, Byrom, Carr, Crabtree, Cummins, Cuthbertson, Mark Dowd, Peter Dowd, Dutton, Fairclough, Lord Fearn, Friel, Gatherer, Grace, Hardy, Hartill, Jones, Keith, John Kelly, John Joseph Kelly, Kermode, Kerrigan, Lappin, Lewis, Maher, S. McGuire, McKinley, Moncur, Murphy, Owens, O'Brien, Page, Papworth, Preece, Roberts, Robinson, Roche, Thompson

Preece, Roberts, Robinson, Roche, Thompson, Tweed, Veidman, Weavers, Webster and Welsh

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Dams, Dawson, Dodd, Hands, Killen, Peter Maguire, Mahon, McGinnity, Robertson and Shaw.

2. FORMER MAYORESS, MRS MARY MCVEY

The Mayor reported on the sad death of Former Mayoress, Mrs Mary McVey on 17 May 2014.

The Mayor advised that Mrs McVey had supported her husband, Former Councillor Paul McVey during his Year of Office as Mayor of Sefton in 1998/99.

The Council then stood in silence for one minute as a mark of respect for Mrs Mary McVey.

3. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR 2014/15

It was moved by Councillor P. Dowd, seconded by Councillor Maher and unanimously

RESOLVED

That Kevin Cluskey, a Councillor of the Borough, be elected Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by his successor.

Councillor Cluskey then made a Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair for the meeting.

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR FOR 2014/15

It was moved by Councillor Brodie - Browne, seconded by Councillor Lord Fearn and unanimously

RESOLVED:

That Maureen Fearn JP, a Councillor of the Borough, be elected the Deputy Chair of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by her successor.

5. VOTE OF THANKS FOR RETIRING MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Brodie - Browne, seconded by Councillor Lord Fearn and unanimously

RESOLVED: That

- (1) the Council does hereby place on record its appreciation of the ability, courtesy and impartiality, shown by Councillor Maureen Fearn in her capacity as Mayor of the Borough and Chair of the meetings of the Council, during the Municipal Year 2013/14 and for her attendance at many civic and public functions, both inside and outside of the Borough;
- (2) the Council also desires to extend its thanks to Mr Frank Winrow for his support and encouragement given to the Mayor;
- (3) the Council wishes to record its appreciation of the excellent effort and involvement by both Councillor M. Fearn and Mr Winrow in connection with the Mayor of Sefton's Charity Fund;
- (4) the Council further desires to extend its sincere thanks to Councillor M. Fearn and Mr Winrow for the hospitality extended to Royal Visits, Overseas Visitors, Civic Dignitaries and Twinning Officials hosted by this Borough; and
- (5) a copy of the Resolution be passed under the Corporate Seal and presented to Councillor M. Fearn and Mr Winrow.

Councillor Maureen Fearn and Mr Frank Winrow were then presented with framed copies of the Vote of Thanks as tokens of the Council's appreciation of the manner in which they had undertaken their duties in the Office of Mayor during the past twelve months.

Councillor Maureen Fearn responded to the Vote of Thanks and expressed her appreciation to her Consort Mr Frank Winrow, the members

of the public, various organisations and Council officers who had supported her during her Year of Office.

6. ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING

It was moved by Councillor P. Dowd, seconded by Councillor Maher and

RESOLVED:

That the meeting be adjourned and the Council re-convene on Tuesday, 3 June 2014 at 6.30 p.m. in Bootle Town Hall.